8.—Representation in the House of Commons according to the Districts of the Representation Act, 1914, as at June 39, 1923.—concluded.

Provinces and Districts.	Popu- lation, 1921.	Voters on list.	Number of votes polled.1	Name of Member.	P.O. Address.
Br. Columbia—con. New Westminster Skeena Vancouver, Centre Vancouver, S Victoria City Yale	45,982 28,934 60,879 46,137 38,727 35,698	18,983 9,605 31,436 19,847 18,563 16,228	6,579 18,219 12,985 12,603	McQuarrie, W. G Stork, Alfred Stevens, Hon. H. H Ladner, L. J Tolmie, Hon. S. F MacKelvie, J. A	Prince Rupert, B.C. Vancouver, B.C. Vancouver, B.C. Victoria, B.C.
Yukon Territory (1 member)— Yukon	4,157	1,658	1,388	Black, George	Dawson, Y.T.

¹ Votes and voters from returns of general election, 1921.

II.—PROVINCIAL GOVERNMENTS.

Table 9 gives the names and areas, as in 1923, of the several provinces, territories and provisional districts of the Dominion, together with the dates of their creation or admission into the Confederation and the legislative process by which this was effected.

9.—Provinces and Territories of Canada, with present Areas, Dates of Admission to Confederation and Legislative Process by which this was effected.

Province, Territory	Date of Admission or Creation.			Legislative Process.	Present Area (square miles).		
or District.				Legislative Trocess.	Land.	Water.	Total.
Ontario	July "	1, 1,	1867 1867 1867 1867	Imperial Order in Council of	365,880 690,865 21,068 27,911	41,382 15,969 360 74	407,262 ¹ 706,834 ² 21,428 27,985
Manitoba	"	15,	1870	May 22, 1867. Manitoba Act, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870.	231,926	19,906	251,8323
British Columbia	"	20,	1871	Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871.	353,416	2,439	355,855
Prince Edward Island.	"	1,	1873	Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873.	. 2,184	-	2,184
	Sept.	1,	1905	Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 42).	243,381	8,319	251,7004
Alberta	ee	1.	1905	Alberta Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3).	252,925	2,360	255,2854
Yukon	June	13,	1898	Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (61 Vict., c. 6).	206,427	649	207,076
Mackenzie Keewatin Franklin	Jan. "	1,	1920 1920 1920	Order in Council, March 16, 1918	501,953 205,973 500,000	27,447 6,851	529,4005 212,8245 500,0005
Total				[3,603,909	125,756	3,729,665

¹ This area was increased by the Canada (Ontario Boundary) Act, 1889, and the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 40).

Increased by Order in Council of July 6, 1896, and Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V.

c. 45).

**Increased by Extension of Boundaries of Manitoba Act, 1881, and Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 32).

**Alberta and Saskatchewan now cover approximately the area formerly comprised in the districts of Assiniboia, Athabasca, Alberta and Saskatchewan, established May 17, 1882, by minute of Canadian P. C. concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895.

**By an Order in Council of June 23, 1870, Rupert's Land, acquired under the Rupert's Land Acts of 1867 and 1868, and the undefined Northern Territories were admitted into the Confederation. The original Northwest Territories, mentioned in the Manitoba Act, 1870, was established by the Northwest Territories Act, 1880 (43 Vict., c. 25), the district of Keewatin having been previously defined by an Act of the Dominion Parliament (39 Vict., c. 21). The provisional districts of Yukon, Mackenzie, Franklin and Ungava were defined in an Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895, their boundaries being changed by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. By Order in Council of July 24, 1905, the area of Keewatin not included in the Northwest Territories was annexed to the latter from Sept. 1. 1905. By the Extension of Boundaries Act, 1912, Ungava was made a part of the province of Quebec and the remaining area of the Northwest Territories south of 60° N. latitude was divided between Manitoba and Ontario. 60° N. latitude was divided between Manitoba and Ontario.